Are Macaroons Vegan?
Traditionally macaroons are not in fact vegan due to the fact that one of the main ingredients in a macaroon is eggs, more specifically egg whites which are often needed to give it the right texture. Also, generally, macaroons tend to have food colouring in them to make them into the brightly coloured macarons we all know and love. Unfortunately, a lot of food colouring isn’t vegan either, so this is another ingredient to watch out for in macaroons if you are vegan. However, having said that there are certain places that do make vegan macarons and indeed it is something we are testing and trying ourselves to make sure we can cater to absolutely everyone! A popular way of making macarons that are vegan, is substituting your egg whites for something called aquafaba. Aquafaba is the viscous water in which legume seeds such as chickpeas have been cooked. It has very similar qualities to egg whites, hence it is used as a substitute.
Common Non-Vegan Ingredients In A Macaroon
Common non-vegan ingredients in a macaroon include, firstly egg whites. Egg whites are one of the main ingredients in a macaroon and are essential because they form the stiff, stable meringue which is an essential part of the macaroon baking process and is what makes the macaroons have the texture and taste that they do. Granulated sugar is another ingredient that isn’t necessarily vegan friendly. This ingredient gets its colour from a refining process that often involves the use of bone char. Meaning even though it’s not directly an animal product, it still isn’t vegan. Granulated sugar is quite essential in a macaroon because it gives it the correct texture and sweetness for the macaroon. Another place to look out for non-vegan ingredients is in the fillings of macaroons. Particularly chocolate-based ones as the likelihood is, vegan chocolate has not been used to make up the ganache.
Buy Our Vegan Macaroons
At Miss Macaroon, we have been working very hard to perfect the perfect vegan macaroon, we didn’t want the taste or the perfection of them to be compromised in any way so we wanted to make sure the recipe was just right. We are pleased to say that we have found the right recipe and consistency and we are now opening up a vegan range of macaroons! We provide next day delivery on all of your orders, so any vegans out there who feel as if they are missing out on these sweet treats, never fear as we have you covered! You will be able to buy our vegan macaroons online from October!
Are Macarons Vegetarian?
If you are looking for a vegetarian safe dessert or gift to give, macarons could be the perfect option for you! Whilst these gorgeous, delicate and elegant little meringue delights might look as if they would contain gelatin, they don’t! In fact macaroons are completely vegetarian friendly in general. The difference may come when you have a filling that could possibly contain some gelatin, however as a general rule macarons are indeed vegetarian. Certainly at Miss Macaroon, our while range of macarons are completely vegetarian friendly and provide a gorgeous gift for your loved ones who may be vegetarian!
The Traditional French Macaron
The macaron is traditionally thought to have been introduced by the Italian chef of queen Catherine de Medici during the Renaissance period. Since then a traditional macaron has consisted of two out shells which are soft and slightly chewy, filled with a butter cream, ganache or jam filling. Famous chefs and macaron shops have since been revamping the classic macaroon to include all sorts of different flavours and filling for a modern and trendy sweet treat. Indeed, at Miss Macaroon we have a core range of flavours and colours that stick to the more traditional flavours such as chocolate, lemon, vanilla, pistachio and raspberry. However we do also have a slightly more modern range which changes throughout the seasons with flavours such as champagne, rhubarb and custard, peach and green tea and strawberry and passionfruit. We’ve even made a savoury macaron using cheese as the filling which people absolutely loved! However if you are looking for the more traditional flavours, this is one of our specialities and we can provide you with a gorgeously presented absolutely scrumptious box of traditional macarons.
Common Ingredients In A Macaron
A macaron doesn’t actually have as many ingredients as you might think! They are mainly made up of egg whites, almond meal or almond flour, icing sugar and granulated sugar. Often there is food colouring in it as well to make them the brightly coloured sweet treats you see in store windows or bakeries! A macaron is made by combining the icing sugar and ground almonds. In a separate bowl, egg whites are beaten to a meringue-like consistency. The two elements are then folded together very delicately until they are the perfect consistency and then are piped, left to form a skin, and baked. Other common ingredients you will see in a macaron is of course the butter cream or chocolate ganache that goes in the middle as the filling. The butter creams can be all sorts of differently delicious flavours.
Possible Non-Vegetarian Ingredients
Possible non-vegetarian ingredients to look out for in some other supplier’s macarons is mainly gelatine. Some gels might be used as part of the filling in a macaron which then causes the macaron itself to become non-vegetarian. At Miss Macaroon, all of our macaron flavours and colours are 100% vegetarian, no gelatine is used in any of our flavours.